jump to navigation

S.C. Minority Leader To Endorse Richardson? March 16, 2007

Posted by fitsnews in 2008 Presidential Primaries.
trackback

Bill Richardson 2

SOURCES SAY YES, OTT SAYS NO

FITSNews – March 16, 2007 – S.C. House Minority Leader Harry Ott is said to be favoring New Mexico Gov. Bill Richardson in the 2008 Democratic Presidential Primary, sources tell FITSNews. In fact, one source tells us Ott has signaled to fellow House Democrats that he is planning on endorsing the former Clinton Cabinet member and Ambassador to the United Nations in the coming weeks.

“That’s a little bit of a stretch,” Ott told FITSNews. “What I’ve said is I’m very interested in Richardson and I think he is by far the most qualified of the candidates, but I have not made a decision yet on who I am endorsing. I want to hold my options open at this point.”

Ott said he has invited each of the Democratic presidential hopefuls to address the 51-member House Democratic Caucus, and that he wants to hear what all of the candidates have to say before he makes a decision.

While praising Richardson’s experience, Ott did say that the New Mexico governor needs to spend more time in the Palmetto State.

“My disappointment in him so far is he hasn’t spent much time in South Carolina,” Ott said. “I think he is going to find a lot of people here who are interested in what he has to say, but the message doesn’t sell itself, he has to be here.”

Lachlan McIntosh, Richardson’s South Carolina Director and former Executive Director of the S.C. Democratic Party, said

“Governor Richardson is going to be spending a lot of time in South Carolina,” McIntosh said. “In fact, we plan on taking Rep. Ott up on his deal to speak to the Democratic Caucus.”

Ott said he planned on endorsing a candidate at some point, but that he had no present preference or affiliation with any campaign. Asked specifically if he had a “Darrell Jackson deal,” Ott laughed and said “I’m not a consultant. I can say for the record I’m not on anybody’s payroll.”

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a comment